I’m a communications officer!

This week is special. On Thursday I’m starting a new job as Media and Communications Officer at the European Geosciences Union (EGU), based in Munich, Germany.

American readers may be familiar with the American Geophysical Union, or AGU; the EGU is the European equivalent of the AGU. It is a non-profit society that brings together individuals working in, or studying, Earth, planetary, and space sciences, and is dedicated to the promotion of these disciplines. To this aim, the EGU publishes several open-access, peer-reviewed scientific journals, as well as books. It also brings together over 10,000 scientists every year for its General Assembly.

I was hired to help meet the Union’s goals of promoting all sciences related to Earth (and beyond), and encourage cooperation between scientists working in these areas. To start with, I’ll be in charge of setting up and operating EGU’s press office, and developing a communications plan for the Union. And before too long, I’ll be organizing press conferences at the General Assembly and writing press releases about everything from hurricanes, volcanos and earthquakes to energy, the environment and climate change. Sounds cool, huh?

It’s a high-responsibility job too, so it will require hard work and plenty of dedication from my side. Sadly, I am not like the great Ed Yong who, before going freelance, was somehow capable of leading a team of information officers at Cancer Research UK by day, and blogging about science by night. This is not to say that I’ll stop posting, because I’ll keep writing at Dinner Party Science (I owe too much to this blog, including, to some extent, my new job). But don’t be surprised if the frequency of posts dips slightly. Still, I’ll try to write here at least two or three times a month so do keep visiting.

Finally, if you are a science communicator, a journalist, or a blogger who reports about the sciences of the Earth and its environment, or planetary and space sciences, do drop me a message. You might be interested in one of the exciting geosciences-related stories I’ll have for you in the near future!

YToyOntzOjM6InNyYyI7czo2NToidXBsb2Fkcy9waG90b2dyYXBocy9EYW1hdmFuZC1jNTAzZTM5ZTgyNzM5YTMyNzE5MmRmZmU0YzY2ZDJhMC5qcGciO3M6MToidyI7aTo1NzA7fQ.jpeg

Cap cloud at the Damavand Volcano in Iran. Source: Imaggeo.
5 thoughts on “I’m a communications officer!

  1. Lou Woodley

    Congratulations! This sounds like a great opportunity for you – I hope you enjoy it. Keep us posted on how it goes. I know I’m always interested to hear what people in these kind of roles do on a daily or weekly basis, especially as there’s often a lot of behind the scenes work that it’s good to be aware of. Good luck! 

    Like

  2. Cecilia Fenech

    Hi
     
    I am a PhD student and my research is in the area of earth sciences. I would love to hear what you have to say and look forward to your posts. Good luck on your new post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

